Balsamic Honey-glazed Brussels Sprouts

It doesn’t happen very often where someone asks you to create a recipe to be used at farmers markets that people might enjoy. It took me a while to conceptualize what a person might want to make at a farmers market. What better way to celebrate farmers than by cooking up a big stalk of brussels sprout!

IMG_1879

I originally started making this for thanksgiving and it slipped my mind when I was asked to prepare a recipe for a farmers market.

My dream someday is to live off of the land and have a homestead. I wish to give back to the land all that it gives us everyday. I know that’s hard for some people to picture, but I really do strive to keep living such a simple life.

Spring is in the air and I finally started my container growing vegetables. Since I am living out in this city I am unable to have a garden. I am trying out some different varieties of vegetables such as: Bulb carrots, blueberry tomatoes, and even a squat bush bean plant. All of these grow great in containers! I am especially curious about the blueberry tomatoes! I will keep you updated!

One of my favorite quotes is: Live simply so that others may live simpler too.

IMG_2920

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do.

The Ingredients

  • 1 lb brussels sprouts
  • 1 TB olive oil
  • 3 TB butter
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 1/4 purple onion
  • 1 TB honey
  • 2 TB grey poupon mustard
  • 1 TB balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tsp lemon
  • 1/4 cup cream
  • 2 TB flour
  • 1/4 cup grated Asiago cheese
  • (optional: crumbled bacon)

Some Tips-and-Not

Farmers Markets are a great way to find fresh produce without paying an arm and a leg… well I guess it depends on what city or area you live in. I refuse to shop at farmers markets around here in D.C. I know that sounds awful, but I just cannot handle all of the obnoxious signs stating of their wholesome organic produce. In all reality,  if you’re growing it from your garden and not spraying there is no reason to hype up your produce and state how fresh it is. We get it. We are at a farmers market. It just frustrates me because then people want to over-price everything and what should be about $1.00 lb for potatoes turns into $4. Ridiculous. So… the most cost-effective way to obtain fresh vegetables if you can’t grow them yourselves is to invest in a CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) box. Most of these programs are 15 weeks long, depending on the farm, and you get a huge weekly supply of fresh vegetables at the fraction of the cost. Some farms even let you work hours every week in order to subsidize the cost of the box. How cool is that?!?!

Support your farms and farmers!

The Directions

  1. Remove the ends and quarter cut the brussels sprouts depending on the size.
  2. Cook and fry in olive oil and butter over medium heat for 5 minutes.
  3. Cut up and add the onions and garlic. Add to the pan along with a splash of water and cook until mixture is tender.
  4. Stir in the honey, balsamic vinegar, lemon, and mustard until well-mixed.
    IMG_2873
  5. Next, add in the flour and cream and stir together until evenly thick coated.
    IMG_2874
  6. Garnish with grated cheese, optional bacon bits, and serve.
  7. Enjoy!

    IMG_2890

Live long, cook well, and be happy!

 

Leave a Reply

