Nutmeg Mac n’ Cheese

IMG_2925

My weekend consisted of relaxing, catching up on some sleep, and a photoshoot with Maple. We are clearly living the thug life.

We had our first “big” winter storm here out in D.C. It consisted of ice and mixed snow. It was a huge disappointment because they predicted a huge amount of snow… sadly that was not the case.

A few days later and now the sun is coming out and melting it all away! The weather is changing and today marks the first day of spring!

My parents are coming to visit me for the week and I am so excited! I have just been having a pretty stressful time out here and feeling very lonely. It really will help me to have some familiar faces and relaxation with them. To me, family is everything. I read such an interesting article on friendships:

https://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2015/10/how-friendships-change-over-time-in-adulthood/411466/

I have been having a really hard time transitioning from college. I am such an extroverted individual who becomes energized by people. It could be due to me moving away from home, but I have been having a hard time internalizing friendships. This article spoke to me so deeply because it talked about how we pick our friends which makes it that different from our families since they are there by blood. I think I value friendships more now than most do… which is fine, but there are few out there that value that the same way. It’s a sad excuse to be so busy in life that the value of friends is at the lowest spectrum.

I have a few good friends that have been giving back just as much as I have given them, but people are strange and it’s been really hard to trust that expectation.

Overall, I am so lucky to have Devin, Maple, and my close family. I am so thankful in many ways!

With that in mind, maybe you and your friend can reconnect over this classic-recipe. My life with mac n’ cheese was changed when I introduced cardamon.

Enjoy!

The Ingredients

  • 1, 16 ounce package of elbow or rotini noodles
  • 4 TB butter
  • 1 TB bacon grease
  • 4 TB white flour
  • 1 tsp hickory smoked salt
  • 1/2 tsp fresh nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp fresh garlic
  • 2 pieces of crisp bacon
  • 2 cups milk
  • 2 cups of white cheddar cheese

Some Tips-and-Not

Many times the butter and milk are mixed together first, which then creates problems when trying to mix in the flour! The flour starts to clump together and creates a texture issue. Make sure to mix the flour in with the melted butter and then add the milk and cheese.

Cook your macaroni noodles al dente. This makes it easier for the noodles to capture the cheesey-ness since it’s not fully cooked to mush.

Investing in a microblade works wonders for grating whole herbs and Parmesan cheese. For this recipe I use whole, fresh nutmeg which really brings out the nutty flavor of cheeses.
IMG_2881

The Directions

  1. Boil the noodles in a pot of salted water until al dente.
    IMG_2871
  2. Cook the bacon until nice and crispy and keep the grease aside.
    IMG_2883
  3. Melt the butter and mix in the bacon grease, nutmeg, garlic, and smoked salt. Let these spices crisp up for a few minutes.
  4. Slowly mix in the flour until a nice paste forms and then add the milk.
  5. Once heated, slowly add in the cheese until thickened and bubbling.
    IMG_2879
  6. Garnish with small bits of the crispy bacon and some spinach.
  7. Serve and enjoy!F59F060F-DE90-40D7-B789-51706ABEAA34

Live long, cook well, and be happy!

Leave a Reply

