Creamy Avocado Pesto Pasta

Ever since I can remember I’ve had a passion to cook. I remember sitting at the counter watching my mom bake cookies, and as I got older I would watch my dad make a simple roux using flour and butter.

I can always say I’ve had a productive day if I was able to cook something delicious. Some people may feel more productive by finishing a large chapter book, but cooking is definitely my jam.

What is your productive hobby? I always am interested in knowing what others do besides work or watch Netflix. Having a hobby and doing something for yourself is one of the greatest things we can do for ourselves in this world. Learning, experimenting, exploring are all things that will just make us more rounded individuals that can eventually give that back to the world.

I think that’s the true purpose behind this cooking blog for me. At this point I am not trying to make anything larger than this because I am simply content by doing this for myself. I know I can cook, and I know I can cook amazingly well. That’s why if you just happened to stumble across this, I really hope you enjoy all of the recipes and insights on tips. Most of all, I feel so incredibly grateful to share the love of my hobby and passion with you!

Go and live the life you want most and enjoy your hobbies! Paint, read, travel, run, or do whatever that gives you that amazingly satisfied feeling of purpose.

The Ingredients

  • 3 soft avocados
  • 2 TB lemon
  • 3 TB olive oil
  • 1/4 can of pumpkin
  • 1 can of diced organic tomatoes
  • 3-6 TB of pre-made pesto mix (or 3 TB basil, 3 TB garlic, 1/4 cup olive oil)
  • 1/2 purple onion, diced
  • 1/2 yellow pepper, diced
  • 1 TB dried basil leaves
  • 1/4 cup olive oil mayo (or whole milk greek yogurt)
  • 1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan
  • salt and pepper to taste

Some Tips-and-Not

This is a great way to get lots of healthy fats in your diet and a great vegetarian recipe when you’re craving and needing something creamy. This can easily be made into a vegan recipe as well by making sure the pasta has no eggs, skipping the cheese, mayo, and making sure your dog hair doesn’t find its way in as a secret spice.

img_2628

I found that fresh tomatoes taste so much better in this recipe in the summer, but unfortunately none of the grocery stores or farmers markets had any good tomatoes to choose from. I opted to use canned diced tomatoes because there was a deeper flavor in the tomatoes that paired well with the creamy avocado.

If you find a good deal on avocados that might not be very ripe, this is a perfect time to stock up! You’ll have a lot of avocados and what is nice is that this sauce easily freezes well if you make a double batch! To cream the avocados can opt to use an old school potato masher, a food processor, or a hand blender.

The Directions

  1. Cut 3 avocados in half and scoop out into a food processor (or in my instance a potato masher).
  2. Mix together on medium until smooth and creamy. Depending on your taste and strength of pesto, I would start with 3 TB and gradually add more until desired taste. Next, add salt and pepper to taste, pumpkin puree, and lemon. Blend until smooth.
    img_2608
  3. Meanwhile, heat the olive oil in a small sauce pan and sauté the dried basil leaves, diced onions, peppers, and tomatoes until tender.

  4. Place the vegetable mixture into the avocado sauce and add the mayo. Mix in a large bowl with a spatula until well-blended.
    img_2610
  5. Grate and add the Parmesan cheese. Serve over pasta with a garnish and salt and pepper to taste.
    img_2611
  6. ENJOY!

Live long, cook well, and be happy!

2 thoughts on “Creamy Avocado Pesto Pasta

Leave a Reply

