2 a.m. Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups

Being an adult comes with many responsibilities. When I was younger, I was always trying to grow-up just a little bit more so that I could have more freedom and choices. I really didn’t want to go to bed early when I was younger, but now if I can’t put my head on my pillow around 9 p.m. I feel like I’m going to cry. I really wanted to drive myself places when I was younger, but now it’s a miracle if I can drive 5 miles to get groceries. A person must eat. I really wanted to steal the sweet, delicious mom-baked cookies in the middle of the night when I was younger, and now I STILL  find myself wanting that, but I know that my body wouldn’t quite benefit from that (my soul would though…).

What is a women to do? Well… I decided last weekend at 2 a.m. to say SCREW IT and I made myself some dark chocolate, coconut oil peanut butter cups. I do not regret my adult decision ONE BIT! It was GLORIOUS! The dark chocolate melting in my mouth with a hint of sensual coconut oil, and to finish off with a burst of peanut butter was all a menstruating woman at 2 a.m. could ever want in life. Move over honey, this kiss is for the peanut butter cup!

I hope you enjoy this late night creation and I hope with all my heart that you can find the small things in life that make it worth it to be an adult! Sometimes it is O.K. to do things that make you feel young again. There’s definitely either positive or negative outcomes that come with many adult choices, but I am pretty sure making peanut butter cups at 2 a.m. isn’t going to hurt anyone except maybe that diet plan. EVEN SO… everything in moderation. If you are on a diet plan, just try to substitute with one meal  with cleaner calories! Enjoy being an adult!

The Ingredients

  • 6 ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 TB cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp burbon vanilla
  • 3 TB coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • Silicone baking cup sheet

Some Tips-and-Not

Earlier this past month I decided it was time to invest in a silicon baking product. I’ve had my eyes on a baking sheet because they prove to be very versatile. You can create anything from homemade dog treats, alcoholic ice cubes for mixed drinks, all the way to dark chocolate peanut butter cups. YUM!

img_2572

If the chocolate binds up too much and it is hard to pour into the silicone cups, feel free to add a teaspoon of coconut oil at a time to get it that runny texture.

The Directions

  1. Melt the chocolate chips in a pyrex-similar bowl for 15 seconds. Repeat until the chocolate chips have fully melted.

img_25642. Place 2 TB of coconut oil, cocoa powder, and vanilla in the melted chocolate chips and stir until it is a nice “slow-runny” texture.

3. Use half of the chocolate mixture to fill each silicone cup about half-way. Try to glide the chocolate up the side of the silicone and ready it for the peanut butter.

img_25694. Place the silicone chocolate sheet in the freezer.

5. Meanwhile, melt the peanut butter and coconut oil in a bowl for 15 seconds in the microwave. The texture should be similar to the chocolate.

6. Take out the silicone sheet and place a spoonful of peanut butter inside each chocolate cup. Take the remaining bowl of chocolate (heat it back up for another 15 seconds if needed) and pour over each cup.

img_25737. Place in freezer for 15 minutes (or until hardened) and ENJOY!

img_2575

Live long, cook well, be happy!!!

Leave a Reply

