Apricot Japanese-Curry

Who? What? Where!

This is a strange recipe to some. However, to those that have never had a Japanese curry is not living the cooking life. A Japanese curry is milder than a traditional Indian curry and it involves a bit more of the typical spices and sauces that Japan uses in their everyday cooking.

The most interesting meal I had in Japan when I traveled there in the summer of 2016 was at my friend’s host families house and it was a Japanese curry. We had it for breakfast (although it felt more like brunch). Their version was a bit sweeter, so I decided to make my version a bit more of an elegant sweetness. I decided to replace the sweetness of sugar with a mild sweetness of apricot jam. This inspiration came to me because the host family made their own apricot jam and I thought it would be a nice touch. I also have really been wanting others to see a variety of carrots and potatoes. This recipe uses purple, white, and orange carrots, as well as purple and white potatoes. Umami!

I cannot even begin to describe how beautiful and wonderful travelling in Japan was. It was one of those experiences where you come back from it and you still can’t describe everything you saw, ate, and did. The vast mountains, exciting Tokyo lights, and robotic toilets were just a few of the highlights… and my engagement on top of Mount Yahiko (the mountain of eternal love). I was also super fortunate because my best friend was living there and so on top of being able to see her again, I got to live a bit of her life and the relationships she formed while living over there with host families.

img_2235

Travelling is an amazing way to see more than what the eyes currently see. It opens up new perspectives and emotions that would never appear in an ordinary day. It is especially eye-opening when you’re able to experience the country with locals. Overall, it is my favorite way to become integrated with the culture through food and friends!

I really hope you enjoy my crafted version of this delicious recipe and the ease of using… a CROCK POT!

The Ingredients

  • 1/2 lb stew meat
  • 5 small-medium potatoes
  • 3 large carrots
  • 3 1/2 cups beef broth
  • 1 medium tomato
  • 1 onion
  • 2 TB butter
  • 2 TB ketchup
  • 2 TB Worcester sauce
  • 2 TB apricot jam
  • 3 TB soy sauce
  • 2 TB curry powder mix
  • 1 tsp ginger
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 TB garlic powder
  • 3 TB flour
  • salt and pepper to taste

Some Tips-and-Not

You might not have a crock pot, so using any type of stove pot will do. The process for a stove top pot is a bit different because you would want to saute some of the vegetables and spices to enhance the flavor. The reason a crock pot is so easy is because since it stays at a consistent temperature and even-heating for so long, a lot of the flavors have time to develop and the stew meat becomes very tender.

Curry powder comes in many different types. I would suggest using a yellow curry, mainly with one that has a good mixture of different spices in it. For my recipe, I decided to using a tablespoon of ginger tea. It had the ginger and extra sweetness I wanted. You’re more than welcome to go out of your way and find this, but for the ease of you and cooking, I wrote the recipe the same as if you were to use the ginger tea.

img_2531

If you haven’t already, invest in a large container of soy sauce. It’s super economical and it really starts to become a versatile cooking ingredient. Kikkoman is my standard.

img_2528

Rainbow carrots are amazing for stews. I always try to buy local and organic, and luckily Trader Joe’s always has them in stock! Purple, orange, and white carrots all have different tastes. I find the purple carrots flavor to be more rich and deep, whereas I find the white carrot to be a bit more bitter and pungent. The orange carrots, as we all know them well, are sweet and flowery. That’s why they’re always sold in super markets. Having this variety of a carrot profile really sets any stew or soup apart with a defining variety of flavor. Umami!

img_2521

The Directions

  1. Dice, chop, and mix together potatoes, onion, tomato, and carrots into the crock pot (or in a large stove pot brought to a boil and then put on medium for simmering for several hours)
  1. In a separate bowl, fill it up with your beef broth.

img_2529

  1. In that same bowl, use a whisk to mix in your ketchup, Worcester, apricot jam, soy sauce, curry powder, ginger, bay leaf, garlic powder, flour and salt and pepper.
  1. Place the meat and butter in last.

img_2536

  1. Mix everything together in your crock pot or stove pot.

img_2539

  1. Let it sit in your crock pot for 5 hours on high or on the stove top for 2 hours (at least until the meat becomes very tender)
  2. Add more salt, pepper, or sugar to taste and serve with jasmine rice.

img_2549

p.s. I know this is more Chinese… but I just found out while writing this recipe that it is the year of the rooster… and that’s ME YA’LL!

img_2507

Live long, cook well, and be HAPPY!

 

Leave a Reply

