New Years: A Healthy Dinner

I told you all that I would finally get to writing another blog soon! Better yet, this one is both healthy and delicious. I also seem to use a lot of turkey… maybe I should write a cook book on turkey recipes. Yum. Maple is awaiting the final meal…

img_2402

 

 

This evening I had some time to relax and decided that I needed to do several things: I needed to use up some of my frozen ground turkey and I needed to cook up this squash before it rotted on me yet again. I’ve been having such ‘rotten’ luck trying to remember to cook up squash I have before they go bad. I prevailed this time!!! I am also super stoked because for Christmas, Devin got a wonderful Chicago Cutlery knife set. Walnut wood and drooling…🤤

This recipe was really fun to make-up. I wanted something a bit sweeter with texture. I also wanted to use all of the glorious spices from The Spice House in Milwaukee, Wisconsin I got for Christmas. I used two of them in my recipe, and I would highly suggest investing in these two. They are both very versatile and unique. This recipe and most of my recipes usually feeds a family of 3-4. This recipe is great for a couple and features a very tasty sauce… some of my specialities I would say.

The Ingredients

  • 1 banana squash
  • 1 TB olive oil
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 lb ground white turkey
  • 1 TB Herbs de Provence
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 TB burbon BBQ sauce
  • 1/4 cup of dried chopped cherriea
  • 1/4 cup plain bread crumbs
  • 1 small egg
  • 1/2 cup of chopped onions and baby portebella mushrooms
  • 2 cups brown rice
  • 3 TB salted butter
  • 1TB sage
  • 1/2 cup apple sauce
  • 1 tsp brown sugar

Some Tips-and-Not

Cooking more rice than needed is a great way to create extra grains for the next time you have to cook. I’ve found that cooking extra rice is always a good idea because you can use it for soups, quick Tex-Mex, and stir fries. I would also suggest investing in a nice rice cooker. Cooking rice on the stove-top can be done easily, but with a rice cooker it is easy to just put rice in, turn it on, and tune yourself into other cooking tasks while making dinner. It’s also almost always a fool-proof way of making sure your rice is cooked perfectly every time.

img_2403

When you’re browning butter make sure you keep a close eye on it because it can very easily burn.

 

The Directions

  1. For this recipe I am using a rice cooker. If you don’t have one then cook your rice as usual. This will create four cups when using two dried cups of brown rice. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
  1. Cut up your banana squash or any-type of squash you’d like to use for this recipe. Cut into slices and place on pan with aluminum foil. Drizzle 1 to of olive oil and 1/4 cup of water. Add some black pepper and salt. If you want to get some more spices… I would suggest Back of the Yards from The Spice House.img_2409
  2. Place in the oven and meanwhile you can start cooking up your turkey meatballs.
  3. Place your turkey, egg, breadcrumbs, cherries, mushrooms, onions, and spices into one big bowl and mix together until evenly distributed.img_2410
  4. Add 1 TB of burbon BBQ sauce and roll the meat into 2 inch balls.
  5. Place on a small cast iron or a small pan that you can later use on the stove top.
  6. Bake in the oven with squash for 40 minutes.
  7. Take both the squash and meatballs out of the oven. If the squash needs more time then leave it in there while you prepare the sauce.
  8. Take the meatballs of the pan and set aside to cool.img_2411
  9. Put the pan on medium heat, brown the butter and sage.
  10. Mix in applesauce and brown sugar until evenly mixed.
  11. Everything should be finished at this point   Plate it together and add a sage garnish for presentation.

img_2416

Live long, cook well, and be happy!

p.s. I am super happy about this sauce creation and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did … YUM!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

