Holiday Times.

img_2341

The holidays can be both a joyous and hard time for some. I want to just express how joyous and grateful I am for my family and friends. They have been such huge support systems and wonderful souls. I feel very blessed to have grown up in such a beautiful place that I can always and constantly call my true home.

I cannot even being to describe how BUSY my time was this holiday season. We went back to Wisconsin to visit family and friends… and as amazing as it was to have those experiences, it was also very draining and overwhelming! 2017 will have to have a lot of decisions and changes for us!

On top of my time home, I experienced a ton of self-reflection as I came back to Washington D.C. It’s not that I became unhappy again, it’s just that I became confused with what a 23-year old should be doing. I see a lot of my friends whom have graduated taking their time and exploring life, and it makes me wonder why I also didn’t do a bit of that. I don’t have kids or anything tying me down. I know for a fact that many of us “millennials” receive much grief over this topic. Let me remind other generations that some of us are very fortunate in the fact that we have too many options in terms of careers and lifestyles. Some of us are also having families at a later point in life allowing us the freedom to explore what we want to give to society with our time on this world. Needless to say… all I can come-up with for that thought is… let’s just cook! There can be no deep-philosophy in my cooking because if there was my creations might turn out with a bit too much alcohol.

This recipe can actually use some of that! What I would like to share for some post-holiday depression is a little bit of comfort, a bunch of protein, and a whole lot o’ rum. Every year I make this, and every year my family requests it and then states that it doesn’t taste like the last time. This is just a plot on their end to make sure I keep on making it. I think it could also be due to the fact that they don’t wait for it to cool.

The Ingredients

  • 4 cups of WHOLE milk (don’t skimp on this)
  • 5 whole cloves
  • 2 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 12 egg yolks
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 1/2 cups light white rum
  • 4 cups cream

Some Tips-and-What Not

I cannot even express some of the waste that comes into play with this delicious recipes. First off, save the eggs whites. You could glaze bread, make macaroons, or even some after-holiday white egg omelets. The possibilities are endless. Second off, save the shells if you compost or are going to be gardening. The shells provide excellent starters for seedlings and high calcium intakes for the soil. There are so many great uses with eggs… no wonder they are sometimes called the “golden” food.

Another tip and suggestion I can give is that if you over-cook the eggs… never fear because the blender is here! I always have managed to almost cook the eggs just slightly so I pop it into the blender in small batch and it comes out nice and creamy. This is also a really good way in case if you have a loved-one that’s pregnant. They will need the eggs cooked thoroughly in the mixture.

The Instructions

  1. Combine milk, cloves, vanilla, and spices in a saucepan, and heat over lowest setting for 5 minutes. Slowly bring milk mixture to a simmer (light bubbles). Turn off the heat.
  2. In a large bowl, combine egg yolks and sugar. Whisk together until fluffy and slowly pour into the heated milk mixture.
  3. Turn heat back on low and cook/stir constantly for about 3 minutes, or until thick. Do NOT allow mixture to boil. If it is not getting thick and you are impatient… feel free to kick it up a notch. However, your eggs might cook but then you can use the blender. Strain to remove cloves, and let cool for about an hour.
  4. Stir in rum and cream. Allow to refrigerate overnight before serving, unless you’re like my family and cannot wait… put it in snow outside for a little but, put in icecubes, and add extra rum.

eggnog

Cook well, live long, and be happy!

p.s. I am sorry for my lack of photos with this blog. It has been a busy time! Thanks for cooking and looking!

Leave a Reply

