My First Lesson: Soulful Dog Cookies (These ARE NOT for Dogs)

This evening I came home from a very long day via the metro in DC. About four months ago my fiancee, Devin and I decided to move out to the East Coast from the Midwest in pursuit of advancing our careers, becoming obnoxious drivers, wearing winter coats when it’s 60 degrees, and living pay check to pay check to pay for rent alone. Life can’t get much cooler than this dream! That’s another reason why I started this cooking blog… to escape from the reality that awaits me in the concrete jungle tomorrow morning.

I’ve been thinking a lot about what I want this cooking blog to have. What elements from my cooking would benefit others in terms of cost, everyday simplicity, and soul. I want to bring some comedy to my cooking as well. I decided (for now) I would like to introduce my own kitchen supplies and buying in bulk, small tips that the everyday cook/baker might forget or not know, and Snapchat. Since today I had a ruff one… I want to share with you a recipe I’ve been working on for a while. I wouldn’t quite classify myself as the best baker, however this is a cooking blog and following a savory meal you also need to know how to make a sweet one.

img_1740

I’ve been blessed with hammy-downs like a I’ve been a nun praying everyday on the Rosary. The benefits of being the youngest child means that you might get all of the old stuff your grandparents or older siblings don’t need anymore. This 1970 (ish) KitchenAid was given to me by my grandma’s mom who was no longer in need of it. Amen!

To start off, this recipe can be made with either your own two hands and a bowl or a fancy KitchenAid like I have above. These are the list of ingredients you will need to end up with some soulful dog cookies or formally known as, chocolate chocolate chip cookies.

The Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup of coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup of shortening
  • 3/4 cup of white sugar
  • 3/4 cup of brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 TB vanilla
  • 2/3 cup of dark cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda AND baking powder
  • 1 tsp espresso (or instant coffee if you’re lazy)
  • 2 cups of white flour
  • 1 cup of dark chocolate chips

Some Tips & Not

Before I get started I wanted to share a bit of tips with you. How do you store your flour and/or other bulk ingredients? I prefer a nice large glass container instead of one that is plastic. A nice tip is to use a recycled industrial size pickle/olive glass jar. They’re super easy to find because you can just hop on over to your local bar or restaurant and see if they have any they put in the recycling. Make sure you ask before you go diving. They have made serious additions to my kitchen collection. A hammy-down from the bar? It happened.

img_1749

Another tip I’d like to share is to not, and I repeat, not let your mom or grandma try to give you a cool shortening and butter kitchen gadget. Honestly, this thing doesn’t make any sense to me and I still have yet to find a practical use for it. Maybe that can be a mission of mine in future cooking adventures… but not tonight. Tonight… it is blasphemy.

 

The Instructions

img_1746

 

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F. Mix the coconut oil, shortening, brown sugar, white sugar, two eggs, and vanilla on high speed with your hand or the blender. The key part is to mix this until it is fluffy! The inspiration of this recipe came from a fluffy dog and the fluffy beginning mixture.

img_1747

Once you have that accomplished, slowly mix in the cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, espresso, flour, and chocolate chips. Make sure when you are measuring out the flour you heap it and then cut it with a knife. Packing flour is a NO NO, but packing brown sugar is a GO GO! Another tidbit I’d like to mention is buying in bulk with chocolate chips. This 4 lb bag of chocolate chips can be used for many things, and I’ll leave that up to your imagination.

 

If you are making these alone, watching your weight, or wish to resist eating every single one of them, place half of the dough in a glass bowl with a lid so you can freeze it and have cookie down in a pinch when you are in desperate need.

Roll them into 1-inch balls onto a greased cookie sheet or line with parchment paper for easy clean-up. Place it in the oven for 10 minutes exactly. There’s really no need to check before or after because I’ve timed this out with many test trials with three different ovens. If your cookies burn or are under cooked, then can blame your oven!

img_1753

Garnish with some sage for that classy look and serve to yourself with a glass of wine or for others! img_1755

There you have it! My first cooking blog post EVER! I hope you enjoy it with every ounce of your soul and let me know if you have any suggestions, requests for recipes, or jokes to share. Life is too short to not laugh and complain.

Live long, cook well, and be happy!

 

 

 

One thought on “My First Lesson: Soulful Dog Cookies (These ARE NOT for Dogs)

Leave a Reply

